Expert Guide

The Best Cheap VPS Hosting in 2026, Priced at 2 vCPU and 4 GB

Eight plans priced in USD for a developer box, compared on the first bill, the renewal, the IPv4 line and the transfer pool.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 8 tools compared
TL;DR

For 2 vCPUs and 4 GB, OVHcloud's VPS-1 has the lowest USD sticker we could confirm on October 10, 2026, at $4.54 a month, with its term set only in the configurator. IONOS's VPS M+ starts at $5 a month, but that rate covers only the first three months of a one-year term. CloudCone's SSD VPS 4 is $7.66 a month with 8 vCPUs, sold on a yearly bill.

The sticker is rarely the bill. Hostinger's KVM 2 renews $6 a month above its promo rate, and DigitalOcean's 4 GiB Droplet adds 20 percent of its price for weekly backups.

Pick OVHcloud if a year of commitment suits the project, IONOS if you want 120 GB of disk at the three-month opening rate and can check the rate after it, and CloudCone when you want 8 vCPUs and accept an annual bill.

Key facts8 tools compared: OVHcloud, IONOS, CloudCone, Hostinger, Akamai Cloud (Linode), DigitalOcean…
  • Updated: October 12, 2026
  • Top pick: OVHcloud (best for: Budget buyers who can pay up front and want the lowest monthly price at 4 GB)
  • Top pick price as of October 12, 2026: OVHcloud: From $4.54/mo for VPS-1 (2 vCores, 4 GB, 40 GB NVMe); billing term not stated in words
  • 8 tools compared: OVHcloud, IONOS, CloudCone, Hostinger, Akamai Cloud (Linode), DigitalOcean, Amazon Lightsail, Kamatera
  • IONOS (best for: Buyers who want the most disk per dollar in the opening months and will check the rate before month four): From $5/mo for VPS M+ (2 vCPU, 4 GB, 120 GB NVMe), for 3 months on a 1-year term
  • CloudCone (best for: Developers who accept an annual bill and want 8 vCPUs on 4 GB of RAM): $7.66/mo for SSD VPS 4 (8 vCPU, 4 GB, 120 GB SSD), billed $92 per year in USD
  • Hostinger (best for: A panel-first buyer who wants more RAM than this spec needs and will budget the renewal): KVM 2 from $8.99/mo promo (2 vCPU, 8 GB, 100 GB NVMe), renewing at $14.99/mo for 2 years

For a small API, a Postgres container and a reverse proxy, two vCPUs and 4 GB is a sensible starting size.

Every plan here is priced at that spec or at the smallest plan above it, which keeps the comparison between like boxes, not between a 512 MB row and a 4 GB one.

The wider VPS hosting for developers guide covers the larger plans and the operating differences between hosts.

This page answers a narrower question: which plan costs the least in USD for the same box, once the renewal, the address and the transfer pool are on the same sheet.

Toolradar data: Toolradar tracks 6 VPS and cloud infrastructure tools out of 11,051 in its directory, as of October 10, 2026.

That count describes the directory, not prices, so every figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, read the same day.

Top Picks

Based on features, real-world fit, and value for money.

Best Cheap VPS Hosting in 2026: Priced at 2 vCPU and 4 GB: 8 tools compared, updated Oct 2026
ToolPricingBest for
OVHcloudFrom $4.54/mo for VPS-1 (2 vCores, 4 GB, 40 GB NVMe); billing term not stated in wordsBudget buyers who can pay up front and want the lowest monthly price at 4 GB
IONOSFrom $5/mo for VPS M+ (2 vCPU, 4 GB, 120 GB NVMe), for 3 months on a 1-year termBuyers who want the most disk per dollar in the opening months and will check the rate before month four
CloudCone$7.66/mo for SSD VPS 4 (8 vCPU, 4 GB, 120 GB SSD), billed $92 per year in USDDevelopers who accept an annual bill and want 8 vCPUs on 4 GB of RAM
HostingerKVM 2 from $8.99/mo promo (2 vCPU, 8 GB, 100 GB NVMe), renewing at $14.99/mo for 2 yearsA panel-first buyer who wants more RAM than this spec needs and will budget the renewal
Akamai Cloud (Linode)$24/mo for the 4 GB shared-CPU plan (2 vCPU, 80 GB SSD, 4 TB transfer)Teams whose box serves files, where the per-GB overage is the number that matters
DigitalOcean$24/mo for the Basic 4 GiB Droplet (2 vCPU, 80 GiB SSD, 4,000 GiB transfer)Developers who want IPv4 included, free inbound transfer and a backup line they can budget
Amazon Lightsail$24/mo for the General Purpose 4 GB bundle (2 vCPU, 80 GB SSD, 4 TB transfer, public IPv4)Teams already on AWS that want one fixed bundle with an IPv4 address
Kamatera$39/mo for Type B Pro (2 vCPU, 4 GB, 20 GB NVMe, 5 TB traffic)Buyers who want a configurable cloud server and can live with a small disk and a high price per GB

Pricing read from each vendor's own published pricing page, checked Oct 2026. Every vendor here publishes a price.

Lowest published monthly priceOVHcloud$4.54IONOS$5CloudCone$7.66Hostinger$8.99Akamai Cloud (Linode)$24DigitalOcean$24Amazon Lightsail$24Kamatera$39
Lowest monthly figure each vendor publishes, checked Oct 2026. A tilde marks a figure the vendor states approximately. Per-seat and usage charges can sit on top of it. Every tool here publishes a monthly price.

Best for: Budget buyers who can pay up front and want the lowest monthly price at 4 GB

PricingFrom $4.54/mo for VPS-1 (2 vCores, 4 GB, 40 GB NVMe); billing term not stated in words

+Per GB of RAM the 4 GB plan works out to about $1.14, the lowest of the 4 GB plans here and the lowest monthly price on the list.
+Traffic is unlimited on a 500 Mbps public port, so a download-heavy box does not carry a metered line on the page.
+The ladder is public: VPS-2 is $8.50 a month for 4 vCores, 8 GB and 75 GB NVMe.
−The page does not spell out the billing term. Its configure link carries an upfront 12-month setting, so the checkout total is the figure to budget.
−40 GB of NVMe fills quickly once a container image, logs and a database share it.
Visit OVHcloud →
2

Best for: Buyers who want the most disk per dollar in the opening months and will check the rate before month four

PricingFrom $5/mo for VPS M+ (2 vCPU, 4 GB, 120 GB NVMe), for 3 months on a 1-year term

+The 120 GB of NVMe matches CloudCone's disk for less than CloudCone charges, so the opening rate buys the most storage per dollar here.
+Unlimited traffic and one IPv4 address are included, which keeps the address off a second line for a single box.
−The page gives a three-month rate on a one-year term and does not state the rate after that, so month four is the number to ask about before you sign.
−Each extra public address is a flat monthly fee, so a second IPv4 address doubles the opening rate.
Visit IONOS →

Best for: Developers who accept an annual bill and want 8 vCPUs on 4 GB of RAM

Pricing$7.66/mo for SSD VPS 4 (8 vCPU, 4 GB, 120 GB SSD), billed $92 per year in USD

+10 TB of transfer a month and one IPv4 address sit inside the $7.66 figure, with no second line for either.
+The plan has 8 vCPUs against the 2 this spec asks for, so a parallel build or a burst job has headroom at the same RAM.
+The page states a 1 Gb/s network speed on all plans and USA datacenters, which suits a box that serves one US region.
−The page shows only a yearly bill and no monthly option, so a one-month test costs the full $92 at once.
−The page lists no backup or snapshot price, so the restore plan is a cost you have to size yourself.
Visit CloudCone →

Best for: A panel-first buyer who wants more RAM than this spec needs and will budget the renewal

PricingKVM 2 from $8.99/mo promo (2 vCPU, 8 GB, 100 GB NVMe), renewing at $14.99/mo for 2 years

+8 GB of RAM at the promo rate is double the memory this spec asks for, which works out to about $1.12 per GB.
+The plan card lists 8 TB of bandwidth and free weekly backups, so a restore point is not a separate line.
+The FAQ says every KVM client gets a dedicated IP address, though the page does not name that address as IPv4.
−The renewal is $6 a month above the promo, a rise of about 67 percent on the promo rate.
−All plans are paid upfront, so the checkout total is larger than the monthly figure, and the page does not state how long the promo runs.
Visit Hostinger →

Best for: Teams whose box serves files, where the per-GB overage is the number that matters

Pricing$24/mo for the 4 GB shared-CPU plan (2 vCPU, 80 GB SSD, 4 TB transfer)

+The overage is $0.005 per GB, so 100 GB past the pool costs $0.50, which keeps the worst month of a file host small.
+Every plan on the page is priced in US dollars, so the figure you read is the figure you are billed in.
+The shared-CPU family runs from 1 GB to 192 GB on one page, so the next size is easy to price before you need it.
−The page lists no price for an extra IPv4 address, so a second public address is a line to ask about before you assume it is free.
−Shared CPU shares cores with other tenants, so a CPU-heavy job should move to dedicated cores or a larger plan.
Visit Akamai Cloud (Linode) →

Best for: Developers who want IPv4 included, free inbound transfer and a backup line they can budget

Pricing$24/mo for the Basic 4 GiB Droplet (2 vCPU, 80 GiB SSD, 4,000 GiB transfer)

+The 4 GiB Basic Droplet includes 4,000 GiB of outbound transfer, and inbound traffic is free, so uploads do not spend the pool.
+A public IPv4 is included at no extra cost on the bundled plans, so the address does not become a second line on the bill.
+Weekly backups are 20 percent of the Droplet price, which is $4.80 a month on this plan, and snapshots are $0.06 per GB a month.
−IPv4 is billed separately on v5 Droplets, so the plan family decides whether the address is free.
−The page does not say whether a powered-off Droplet keeps billing, so ask before you park a test machine.
Visit DigitalOcean →

Best for: Teams already on AWS that want one fixed bundle with an IPv4 address

Pricing$24/mo for the General Purpose 4 GB bundle (2 vCPU, 80 GB SSD, 4 TB transfer, public IPv4)

+The public IPv4 bundle is one price, so the address, the disk and the transfer sit on one invoice row.
+The page prices the next step in the same table: $44 a month for 8 GB on 2 vCPUs, with 5 TB of transfer.
+The Compute Optimized 4 GB bundle is $42 a month on 160 GB of SSD, the step up when the workload needs faster cores.
−The IPv6-only bundle is a separate, lower-priced product, and it cannot serve an A record for a site that needs IPv4.
−Bundles are fixed, so a 2 vCPU box that needs 6 GB of RAM moves up to the 8 GB row rather than sitting between two sizes.
Visit Amazon Lightsail →

Best for: Buyers who want a configurable cloud server and can live with a small disk and a high price per GB

Pricing$39/mo for Type B Pro (2 vCPU, 4 GB, 20 GB NVMe, 5 TB traffic)

+5 TB of traffic is included, more than the 4 TB pools on the Akamai and Lightsail 4 GB plans, and extra traffic is $0.01 per GB.
+Ubuntu Server 24.04 LTS (64-bit) is named as the image on this configuration, so the operating system is set before checkout.
−Per GB of RAM the 4 GB Pro plan costs $9.75, the highest per-GB figure in this ranking.
−The page does not say whether an IPv4 address is included, and it prints dollar figures without a currency code.
Visit Kamatera →

What it is

A VPS is a virtual Linux server with its own public address, rented by the month and billed whether the CPU is busy or idle.

You get root access, which also means you patch it, open the firewall and run the stack you choose.

It is a different purchase from a serverless platform, which bills per request, and from a managed database.

If the box holds a database you will also operate, the Postgres hosting comparison prices the managed route next to it.

Why it matters

The sticker hides three lines: the renewal, the IPv4 address and the transfer allowance. The four lowest stickers all carry a condition: OVHcloud's term sits in its configurator, IONOS's rate lasts three months, CloudCone bills yearly and Hostinger's renewal costs more.

The 4 GB plans from DigitalOcean, Akamai and Amazon Lightsail read as plain monthly list prices on their pages.

A cheap VPS also charges for things a managed platform bundles. DigitalOcean prices a backup as a share of the machine, and Akamai bills egress by the gigabyte past the pool.

A team comparing a server with a hosted platform should read the cheaper Vercel alternatives page, which prices hosting for a three-developer team.

Key features to look for

A fixed spec
Every plan is priced at 2 vCPUs and 4 GB of RAM, or at the smallest plan above that spec. Where the smallest qualifying row is larger, such as Hostinger's 8 GB or CloudCone's 8 vCPUs, the extra capacity is noted rather than hidden.
The billing term
Some stickers hold for one month, some for a year paid upfront, and one for three months only. The term decides the first-year bill more than the monthly figure does.
The address line
A public IPv4 is included on some of these plans, charged separately on others, and not stated on some pages. Count it on the sheet before you compare the RAM.
The transfer pool
Included transfer runs from 4 TB to unlimited across these plans. Overage rates are printed on some pages and missing on others, so the worst month is not always visible on the card.
Backups and snapshots
A restore point is a separate line on some bills and free on others. DigitalOcean prices weekly backups as a share of the Droplet, while Hostinger includes weekly backups on its KVM plans.
Disk size
The disk runs from 20 GB at Kamatera to 120 GB at IONOS and CloudCone. A container image, logs and a database share that space, so the smallest disk is often the first limit a box reaches.

Pricing

How we compared: each vendor's own USD pricing page, read on October 10, 2026. We ranked the smallest plan with at least 2 vCPUs and 4 GB of RAM by its monthly sticker, and we say where a page leaves out the term or the renewal.

Vendors that publish only euros, or without a confirmed current USD price for this spec, are left out.

The arithmetic: OVHcloud's sticker times 12 is $54.48 a year, CloudCone's yearly bill is $92, and Hostinger's promo comes to $107.88 for a year against $179.88 at renewal.

Linode, DigitalOcean and Lightsail at the same 4 GB tier come to $288 a year each, and Kamatera's $39 is $468 a year. Those are sticker totals, before backups, snapshots, the extra address or any overage.

Contabo, Netcup and Scaleway publish euro prices and no USD list, so their figures are not converted here.

Hetzner, RackNerd and Vultr are missing because no current USD price for this spec is confirmed.

The developer VPS guide carries earlier figures for Vultr and Hetzner, and the Hetzner Cloud review covers the product itself.

IONOS does not state what month four costs, and OVHcloud's term appears only in its configurator, so read the checkout total before you budget.

Toolradar keeps profiles for OVHcloud, IONOS, Hostinger, Linode and DigitalOcean.

Vendor pages read for this page: OVHcloud VPS, IONOS VPS, CloudCone VPS, Hostinger VPS, Akamai Cloud shared CPU, DigitalOcean Droplets, Amazon Lightsail and Kamatera. Kamatera prints dollar figures without a currency code, and we read them as USD.

PlanPriceBest for
OVHcloud VPS-1$4.54/mo2 vCores, 4 GB, 40 GB NVMe, unlimited traffic; term set in the configurator
OVHcloud VPS-2$8.50/mo4 vCores, 8 GB, 75 GB NVMe, 1 Gbps public port
IONOS VPS M+ opening rate$5/mo2 vCPU, 4 GB, 120 GB NVMe; first 3 months of a 1-year term
IONOS VPS M+ after month 3Not statedThe page does not state the rate after the opening period
CloudCone SSD VPS 4$7.66/mo8 vCPU, 4 GB, 120 GB SSD, 10 TB a month; billed $92 a year
Hostinger KVM 2 promo$8.99/mo2 vCPU, 8 GB, 100 GB NVMe, 8 TB; all plans paid upfront
Hostinger KVM 2 renewal$14.99/moRenews for 2 years; free weekly backups on the plan card
Akamai egress overage$0.005/GBPast the transfer pool on the shared-CPU plans, in US dollars
DigitalOcean weekly backups20% of DropletDaily backups are 30 percent of the Droplet price
DigitalOcean snapshots$0.06/GB/moStored snapshots, billed separately from backups
Amazon Lightsail Compute Optimized 4 GB$42/mo2 vCPU, 4 GB, 160 GB SSD, 5 TB transfer, public IPv4
Amazon Lightsail General Purpose 8 GB$44/mo2 vCPU, 8 GB, 160 GB SSD, 5 TB transfer, public IPv4
Kamatera Type B Pro$39/mo2 vCPU, 4 GB, 20 GB NVMe, 5 TB traffic
Kamatera extra traffic$0.01/GBBeyond the 5 TB included with Type B Pro
Mistakes to avoid
×Ordering the first price on the grid without reading the term. IONOS's opening rate holds for three months of a one-year term, and the page does not state what follows, so price month four before you sign.
×Budgeting Hostinger at the promo rate. The KVM 2 renewal is $14.99 a month for two years, $6 above the $8.99 opener, and that gap is $144 across 24 months.
×Forgetting the address. IONOS charges a flat monthly fee for each extra public address, which doubles the opening rate for a second one, and the Akamai page lists no IPv4 price at all.
×Treating backups as free. DigitalOcean's weekly backups are 20 percent of the Droplet, which is $4.80 a month on the 4 GiB plan, before snapshots at $0.06 per GB a month.
×Paying for a container host with a 20 GB disk. Kamatera's Pro plan has 20 GB of NVMe, so the disk is the first limit a Docker stack meets.
×Buying a test box on the yearly plan. CloudCone's page shows a yearly bill and no monthly option, so a box you abandon in month two still costs the full year.
Expert tips
→Price the year, not the month. Multiply the sticker by twelve, then add the backup percentage, the second address and an expected transfer overage. Once those lines sit on the same sheet, the cheapest plan can change.
→Size the stack before you shop. A 2 vCPU, 4 GB plan is the usual home for a small API, Postgres and a reverse proxy. If the database grows, the <a href="/reviews/best-postgres-hosting">Postgres hosting comparison</a> prices the managed option next to a box you patch yourself.
→Read the powered-off rule before you create a test machine. The DigitalOcean page does not say whether a stopped Droplet bills, so ask support before you park one. If the app serves files, read the egress line first, since that is where a quiet box turns into a large bill. The <a href="/reviews/digitalocean-review">DigitalOcean review</a> covers the Droplet itself.

The bottom line

OVHcloud is the lowest sticker at this spec, and it is the buy if its upfront 12-month term and 40 GB of disk suit the project.

IONOS gives the most disk per dollar at its opening rate: a three-month rate on a one-year term, one IPv4 address and 120 GB of NVMe, with the rate after month three to confirm before you order.

CloudCone is for a team that wants 8 vCPUs and accepts an annual bill.

Hostinger is for a panel buyer who has budgeted the renewal and wants 8 GB of RAM.

DigitalOcean is the pick when you want the IPv4 address included and a weekly backup you can budget. Akamai is the pick when the overage per gigabyte is the number you worry about.

Kamatera only makes sense when a configurable server matters more than the price.

Cite this: Devshot, "Best Cheap VPS Hosting in 2026", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest VPS with 2 vCPUs and 4 GB of RAM in 2026?
On the vendor pages read on October 10, 2026, OVHcloud's VPS-1 has the lowest sticker at $4.54 a month, with 40 GB of NVMe and unlimited traffic. Its page does not state the billing term in words, so read the checkout total. IONOS's VPS M+ is $5 a month for the first three months of a one-year term, and the page does not state the rate after that.
How much does a 4 GB VPS cost per month?
Across the seven 4 GB plans here, the sticker runs from OVHcloud's VPS-1 to $39 at Kamatera. Per GB of RAM that is about $1.14 to $9.75, and Hostinger's 8 GB plan works out to $1.12 on its promo, below that range. The lowest prices come with a term, a promo or an annual bill, so read the term before you read the number.
Is the Hostinger VPS price the same after the first term?
No. Hostinger's KVM 2 is $8.99 a month on the promo and $14.99 a month at renewal for two years, so the renewal is $6 a month more. The page says all plans are paid upfront, so the checkout total is larger than the monthly figure.
Does a cheap VPS include an IPv4 address?
Some do and some do not say. CloudCone includes one IPv4 address, IONOS includes one and charges a flat monthly fee for each extra, and DigitalOcean includes a public IPv4 at no extra cost on its bundled plans. Akamai's page lists no IPv4 price, and Kamatera's page does not say whether one is included.
Why are Vultr and Hetzner missing from the ranking?
No current USD price for the 2 vCPU and 4 GB spec is confirmed for Vultr, Hetzner or RackNerd, so no figure is quoted for them. Contabo, Netcup and Scaleway publish euro prices only. The developer VPS guide carries earlier figures for Vultr and Hetzner.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the Devshot brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free